Autore in Onda


As of 3rd May 2020, I will have completed 46 days of restricted movement order. In this state of imposed isolation, I have spelt out ‘musicinisolation’ in Morse code, hoping my message will be as universal as it is far-reaching. This track is a collection of every submission in Sustaining The Music. By fortunate coincidence, the number of submissions reflected the number of dots and dashes / dits and dahs. And even more fortuitous, each track was found to be a ‘dit’ or ‘dah’ appropriate to the amount required to spell ‘musicinisolation’. I have set a time of 6’30’’ for this track to represent the 6 weeks and 3 days spent in relative isolation. In general, each submission is given a 10-second range but as anyone will tell you, some days can feel longer than others, or days melt into each other.

I couldn’t resist repeating Phil Minton’s shudder breath at the end of this track. It is so symbolic of these Covid-affected times. And a good thing too. Like any well-conceived ideology that is too good to be true, there is always a flaw. I was missing a ‘dit’ anyway.

This album takes its cue from the first conducting signal in the LIO's lexicon of signs, "hand out flat palm upward: play a sustained sound". With the musicians confined to their homes the idea was to create an orchestral sample library. Many LIO members supplied recordings of one minute of sustained sound which were then used to create the pieces presented here. 
John Edwards: double bass 
Caroline Kraabel: alto sax, voice 
and, in order of appearance: 
Pei-Ann Yeoh: violin 
Sue Lynch: tenor sax 
Susanna Ferrar: violin 
Charlotte Keeffe: trumpet 
Charlotte Hug: viola, voice
Emily Shapiro: bass clarinet 
Musicians: Knut Aufermann: electronics 
Stephan Barrett: bells 
Douglas Benford: harmonium 
Steve Beresford: electronics 
Phoebe Bognar: flute 
Adam Bohman: objects/voice 
Daniel Cano-Amaro: trumpet 
Andrew Ciccone: electronics 
Martin Clarke: alto saxophone 
Phil Durrant: e-bowed dulcimer 
John Edwards: double bass 
Sue Ferrar: violin 
Jacques Foschia: clarinet 
Dave Fowler: drums 
Martin Hackett: electronics 
Charlotte Hug: viola/voice 
Robert Jarvis: trombone 
Ivor Kallin: viola/voice 
Charlotte Keeffe: trumpet 
Gero Kempf: double bass 
Caroline Kraabel: alto saxophone 
Sue Lynch: tenor saxophone 
Marcello Magliocchi: drums 
Neil Metcalfe: flute 
Phil Minton: voice 
Maggie Nichols: voice 
Adrian Northover: alto saxophone 
Simon Petermann: trombone 
Emily Shapiro: bass clarinet 
Trevor Taylor: gong/vibraphone 
Martin Vishnick: guitar 
Jackie Walduck: vibraphone 
Sarah Washington: electronics 
Jerry Wigens: mandolin 
Pei-Ann Yeoh: violin